Wed 5 Jul 2023, 16:37 by NUFC News

Who is the Newcastle manager?

Who is the Newcastle manager?
Serena Taylor via Getty Images
Share Tweet

Edward John Frank Howe, commonly known as Eddie Howe, is the current Newcastle United manager.

He is the 33rd permanent manager in Newcastle United Football Club's history and has held the reigns since Monday, 8th November 2021.

Who did Eddie Howe manage before Newcastle?

Howe's first permanent managerial post was at his boyhood club AFC Bournemouth. He managed Bournemouth from Wednesday, 19th January 2009 until Friday, 14th January 2011, when he left to take charge at Burnley of The Championship.

Howe was officially announced as Burnley's manager on Sunday, 16th January 2011, and was in charge at Turf Moor for a little over 18 months, until Friday, 12th October 2012, leaving to return to League One Bournemouth due to what he described as "personal reasons".

His second stint as Bournemouth manager lasted almost eight years, from Friday, 12th October 2012, until Saturday, 1st August 2020. He secured promotion to The Championship on Saturday, 20th April 2013, and miraculously led Bournemouth to the Premier League on Saturday, 15th May 2015.

Bournemouth remained in the Premier League until the end of the 2019/2020 season, a spell of five years, but were relegated on Sunday, 26th July 2020 after an 18th-place finish. Howe departed "by mutual consent" less than a week later and was out of football for over one year until taking the Newcastle job.

Here's Howe's full managerial record, as of Wednesday, 5th July 2023:

ClubFromToGamesWin %
AFC Bournemouth31st December 200816th January 201110250.00
Burnley16th January 201112th October 20128739.10
AFC Bournemouth12th October 20121st August 202035640.20
Newcastle United8th November 2021Present7450.00

Who else has managed Newcastle United?

Newcastle United Football Club has had 39 individual managers across 48 managerial stints since it was founded. 10 of these individuals have acted as "caretaker" [c] managers, some more than once, with 33 individuals being considered official/permanent managers at some point.

Stan Seymour and Chris Hughton are the only men to have had three separate stints as the Newcastle manager. Joe Harvey, Willie McFaul, Kevin Keegan, Nigel Pearson, and John Carver all had two each.

Here's the full list, as of Wednesday, 5th July 2023:



ToGamesWin %
Frank Watt189231st December 19291,26445.49
Andy Cunningham9th January 193031st May 193525141.83
Tom Mather5th June 19351st September 193917943.58
Stan Seymour1st September 193920th May 19473852.63
George Martin20th May 194714th December 195015549.03
Stan Seymour14th December 195010th December 195417339.88
Doug Livingstone10th December 195429th January 19569943.43
Stan Seymour29th January 195613th June 19588931.46
Charlie Mitten13th June 195818th October 196114536.55
Norman Smith18th October 19611st June 19623534.29
Joe Harvey1st June 196211th June 197559137.90
Gordon Lee12th June 197530th January 19777437.84
Richard Dinnis2nd February 19779th November 19774030.00
Willie McFaul [c]9th November 197718th November 197710.00
Bill McGarry18th November 197731st August 198011831.36
Joe Harvey [c]31st August 19807th September 1980366.67
Arthur Cox7th September 198024th May 198416944.97
Jack Charlton14th August 198410th August 19854831.25
Willie McFaul12th August 198510th October 198814934.90
Colin Suggett [c]10th October 198814th December 1988922.22
Jim Smith14th December 198821st March 199112136.36
Bobby Saxton [c]21st March 199126th March 199110.00
Osvaldo Ardiles26th March 19915th February 19924721.28
Kevin Keegan5th February 19928th January 199725154.98
Terry McDermott [c]8th January 199714th January 199710.00
Kenny Dalglish14th January 199727th August 19987838.46
Ruud Gullit27th August 199828th August 19995234.62
Steve Clarke [c]28th August 19992nd September 199910.00
Bobby Robson2nd September 199930th August 200425546.67
John Carver [c]11th September 200413th September 20041100.00
Graeme Souness13th September 20042nd February 20068744.83
Glenn Roeder2nd February 20066th May 20077245.83
Nigel Pearson [c]6th May 200715th May 200710.00
Sam Allardyce15th May 20079th January 20082433.33
Nigel Pearson [c]9th January 200816th January 2008250.00
Kevin Keegan16th January 20084th September 20082128.57
Chris Hughton [c]8th September 200828th September 200830.00
Joe Kinnear29th September 20087th February 20091822.22
Chris Hughton [c]7th February 20091st April 2009616.67
Alan Shearer1st April 200924th May 2009812.5
Chris Hughton24th May 20096th December 20106459.38
Alan Pardew6th December 201030th December 201418538.38
John Carver [c]1st January 20159th June 20152015.00
Steve McClaren10th June 201511th March 20163122.58
Rafael Benítez11th March 201630th June 201914642.47
Steve Bruce17th July 201920th October 20219728.87
Graeme Jones [c]20th October 20218th November 202130.00
Eddie Howe8th November 2021Present7450.00

Statistically speaking, Chris Hughton stands as the most successful gaffer in club history, boasting a victory rate of 59.38%.

Joe Harvey holds the title of our most successful manager, though, having claimed five pieces of silverware (though four were lesser accolades), and also the lengthiest continuous stint, lasting for thirteen years from 1962 to 1975.

The longest tenure of service was held by Stan Seymour, who had three separate periods at the helm from 1939 to 1958, managing NUFC for nearly fourteen years in total.

Bar Tom Mather, Norman Smith, and Osvaldo Ardiles, all of the club's managers have led the team in the top-flight of English football.

Work with us

We're looking for talented writers and social media wizards to join our team. No experience required. To apply, email us with a bit about yourself, and some sample work/ideas.